New Mexico Car Insurance
Get a Quote and Save up to 40%!*
Get a Quote and Save up to 40%!*
New Mexico is often referred to as the land of enchantment. This beautiful area has some of the most scenic routes of any state in the U.S. To get around in NM; you are going to need a car and New Mexico Car Insurance. There is just one large city in the state, Albuquerque, with a cluster of smaller cities throughout. One of the main USA freeways, I-40, passes throughout the state. It goes from the flat tundra to high mountain tops, with staggering views. With all the driving around, it pays to get quality auto insurance, so you can protect your assets and have the peace of mind you need. Get covered today with rates starting at $29 monthly at good to go insurance.
Proof of Auto Insurance in New Mexico
This state has implemented an electronic database system. It monitors the status of a person’s auto insurance, for all registered automobiles. When someone applies for car insurance and the policy is bound, it is the duty of the insurer to report the coverage to the state of NM. If your policy is dropped, you will be notified by the state and asked to show proof of insurance. If there is no compliance and a person continues to drive without being covered, he or she could have their registration revoked. There could also be fines imposed.
If for whatever reason your auto insurance was suspended, there are a few steps you need to take to reinstate your vehicle registration. This includes first buying valid New Mexico auto insurance. The second thing you will need to do is have your provider update the policy info with the state insurance database, so you are legally in the system. You should also be aware there is a reinstatement fee that is imposed. This cost is $30. As you can see, it does not pay to go without insurance. Get covered for less with a low-cost plan from goodtogo insurance online or over the phone.
There are certain minimum insurance coverage mandates that motorists must comply with. This includes:
* Liability Insurance for Bodily Injuries – At least $25,000 per individual in addition to $50,000 per accident
* Liability for Property Damages – A minimum amount of $10,000, per accident
* Uninsured Motorists Coverage for Bodily Injuries – $25,000 for each person and a minimum of $50,000 per accident
* Uninsured Driver Property Damage – Minimum amount of $10,000 per accident
You can petition getting uninsured driver coverage by filling out a signed form that is available from your insurance provider. However, you may want to think carefully before canceling it. It is estimated that 25% of New Mexico’s drivers carry no auto insurance at all. This means that if you were to, unfortunately, get into a serious accident, you could be left with the financial burden, which could quickly bankrupt you. Get a cheaper policy with good to go auto insurance today.
Optional Auto Insurance Coverage
Buying the minimum auto ins will get you legal, but it might not be enough coverage. Here are some optional coverages you can add on to your policy.
* Collision– This will pay for damages that occurred to your vehicle, as a result of an accident
* Comprehensive– This will cover damages to your vehicle not related to hitting another automobile. Common examples include windshield cracks, water damage, and theft. Remember, if you finance or lease your car, you will likely be required to buy comprehensive insurance.
* Towing and Roadside Assistance– If you do not have an AAA plan and drive an older car, consider adding roadside assistance onto your policy.
All drivers must carry the minimum amount of auto insurance mandated by the state of New Mexico. Many so-called high-risk motorists, however, finds it difficult to get covered. This is often attributed to filing multiple claims or other issues, such as a reckless driving violation or a DUI offense. There is some hope for this group of motorists, however. Officials in the department of insurance have instituted the “New Mexico Motor Vehicle Insurance Plan.” This plan starts off where other insurers stop providing coverage.
It simply fills the car ins needs for high-risk drivers. You can apply online or call 415-765-6767, during normal business hours, Monday through Friday. For those consumers who have general questions about getting insured, there is also a helpline with representatives standing by. The Consumer Assistance Bureau accepts questions and complaints. They can be reached at 505-827-4601. If you feel your auto insurance provider has cheated you or mislead you, this is the office you need to contact.
Teenage Driving Laws
There are several steps teens need to take in New Mexico before they are fully licensed. At 15, a teenager car applies for a learner’s permit. They can then only drive under the supervision of an adult who is over the age of 21. At 15 years and six months, if a teen has completed 50 hours or more of supervised driving, he or she may apply for a provisional license. Finally, after successfully holding a provisional license for one year, then teen may then be issued a standard drivers license.
Get Cheap New Mexico Auto Insurance Online
The best and fastest way to get insured is online. Most consumers can save hundreds with direct rates that cut out the middleman. Online shoppers that need the cheapest New Mexico car insurance can apply for coverage in less than five minutes at goodtogo online. You can compare multiple plans and rates from the top national carriers. Get started now and see how simple it is to save $500 or more on automobile insurance.