PIP Insurance Florida
Company Trusted For Over 25+ Years*
Company Trusted For Over 25+ Years*
Finding the right PIP Insurance Florida means knowing the requirements of your state. PIP in Florida is one of these state requirements. If you are looking for PIP insurance, Florida has plenty of policy options. But, before you purchase a policy, you need to understand what it is and what it covers. In addition, you need to know how much you can expect to spend on your policy. Here’s a brief look at everything you need to know about PIP insurance Florida.
Often referred to as no-fault” insurance, the accident settlement process is much simpler and quicker. PIP, or personal injury protection, be sure that no driver determined to be not at fault for an accident doesn’t have to sue the at-fault driver’s insurance company in an attempt to cover damages. Instead, if you are found to be not at fault, it pays for a certain percentage of the damage caused in an accident.
Certain states, such as Florida, have made PIP insurance mandatory for all drivers. In addition to Puerto Rico and the District of Columbia, fourteen more states have made it a requirement for all drivers. These states are:
While all these states require personal injury protection coverage, the minimum amount and other laws and regulations that go along with it differ.
The states requiring PIP do so because of its benefits, including lower legal fees and court costs. They also appreciate how it streamlines the settlement process. Other states have shied away from mandating PIP insurance because it does limit a resident’s right to sue. Because of PIP’s no-fault system, drivers cannot sue anyone who crashes into them. However, this means that all drivers must purchase personal injury protection in the states using this insurance system.
PIP insurance Florida covers various costs, including medical and death benefits and lost wages. They are discussed in more detail below.
In Florida, policy owners can decide whether they want their policy only to cover themselves or other members of their family. If this is chosen, PIP will typically cover the costs of injuries for anyone in your household. Except for some less traditional yet popular medical practices, such as acupuncture, most medical expenses will be covered.
There is one significant difference between Florida’s PIP insurance and other states. However, PIP insurance Florida differs from other states in some aspects. In Florida, it will only cover 80% of your medical costs. (If your injuries cost $1,000, PIP would pay for $800.) In addition, if your injury is determined not to be an emergency, you will only receive $2,500 in benefits. Fortunately, if you have a good health insurance policy, the rest of your costs should be taken care of, provided your policy does cover injuries received in a car accident. Specific medical services that may qualify for a PIP claim in Florida include:
If a policyholder is killed in a car accident, PIP will cover the costs of their funeral and burial expenses, along with the benefits listed above. You, or your next of kin, would receive $5,000 for these associated costs.
If, after being involved in an accident, you are disabled, PIP insurance Florida will cover 60% of your lost wages, although there may be a limit of $10,000. This coverage also includes transportation to the hospital and other expenses related to your injury. The payment also allows for services you are typically responsible for but are currently unable to perform because of the accident. This includes services related to your daily chores, such as washing your clothes, providing pet care, cleaning the house, and more.
State minimums and required coverages vary by state. Florida auto insurance law states that $10,000 is your maximum and minimum coverage. This means you shouldn’t expect to pay more than $5 to $20 for this type of policy. (Your premium may be higher, depending on what other coverage options you choose.) However, the options available will reduce the cost of your premium. For example:
This option is the best way to reduce your premium significantly. The higher your deductible, the lower your premium. In Florida, the maximum deductible is $1,000. However, there is one important thing to keep in mind before selecting the highest deductible. In Florida, you will have to pay the 20% of your medical bills not covered by PIP. Is this something you will be able to afford?
While this will reduce your premium slightly, it won’t be all that much.
However, you must remember that you will likely have to pay all their medical expenses if they are injured in an accident.
One of the best and easiest ways to get the lowest rate is by shopping around. Never settle for the first quote you get. Try out multiple insurers to get the best deal possible.
Although PIP insurance was introduced in Florida to decrease the number of people suing others over car accident damages, there are a few exceptions to the rule. In Florida and most other no-fault states, drivers can sue if their injuries are severely disfiguring, permanent, or result in death.
Florida does give you another option to sue, even if your injury doesn’t meet the criteria above. You can sue the other driver if your medical costs exceed $10,000. For example, if you are in an accident that leaves you with $15,000 in medical bills, you can sue for the $5,000 not covered by your injury protection policy in FL. (Remember, PIP caps your medical expenses at $10,000.)
Finally, Florida will allow you to sue the other driver if the injuries you experienced cause emotional pain and suffering.
No, pip only covers your medical bills and other passengers in your car. It can also help cover the costs of injured pedestrians. It will not cover any other involved parties.
Personal Injury Law in Florida sets as mandatory for Florida residents, getting this insurance, though it may not be entirely necessary if you have high-quality health insurance. Start comparing rates now by entering your zip code. Shop for direct insurance rates online and save more.